Student Awards 2013

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation
was created to ensure that the United States would maintain its leadership in science and technology by supporting some of the very best science and engineering college students: Katerina Hilleke
Chemist Graduates – High Distinction:
Jonathan Chance Crompton, Corwyn Evans-Klock, Katernia Hilleke, and Alexander Kohn

Chemist Graduates – Distinction: Charles Brayton, Bram CArlosn, Ashley Kretsch, Bethany Okada, Scott Rayermann, and Emma Van Burns

Chemistry Departmental Honors:  Jonathan Chance Crompton, Corwyn Evans-Klock, and Katerina Hilleke

Department Service Award
recognizes senior chemist(s) for extraordinary service to the Department of Chemistry, its students, and faculty: 
Jonathan Chance Crompton, Katerina Hilleke, Scott Rayermann, and Emma Van Burns

The Dotty and Art Campbell Prize
was created by friends to honor Dorothy C. and J. Arthur Campbell. Their commitment to Harvey Mudd College began at its opening in 1957. This prize acknowledges the great contributions of the Campbells, and honors a senior chemist for his/her achievement and promise: Jonathan Chance Crompton and Katkerina Hilleke

The William G. Sly Prize
was donated by friends to honor Bill “The Snowman” Sly. Throughout his 34 years at HMC, Bill displayed a depth of understanding and love of learning that were an inspiration to colleagues and students alike. This prize honors a junior chemist who exemplifies the curiosity, intellectual integrity, and enthusiasm that Bill brought to his teaching and research: Corwyn Evans-Klock and Katerine Hilleke

American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry Award
is to encourage a student’s interest in analytical chemistry and to recognize students who display an aptitude for a career in this field: Alexander Kohn and Bethany Okada

American Chemical Society Divison of Inorganic Chemistry Award
recognizes a student that has demonstrated excellence in inorganic chemistry at the undergraduate level and should have future plans that include a career in chemistry:Jonathan Chance Crompton

American Chemical Society Division Of Polymer Chemistry Award
aims to honor students at the sophomore/junior level for achievement in a basic chemistry course and to call students’ attention to the field of polymer chemistry: Corwyn Evans-Klock and Katherina Hilleke

American Chemical Society Division of Organic Chemistry Award
recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of organic chemistry:  Bethany Okada

The American Institute of Chemists Foundation, Inc., honors outstanding seniors that demonstrated a record of ability, leadership, and professional promise in chemistry: Alexander Kohn

Chemical Rubber Company (CRC) Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement
is based on outstanding academic freshman achievement in chemistry:  Katerina Hilleke

The William and Margaret Radley Prize in Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Arts
is awarded annually to the Harvey Mudd College student whose work in the HSA program best exemplifies the College’s goal that all HMC students should gain an understanding of themselves and their fellow human beings as well as of the physical world around them: Corwyn Evans-Klock

Phi Lambda Upsilon (Honorary Chemical Society)
aims and purposes the promotion of high scholarship and original investigation in all branches of pure and applied chemistry: Charles Brayton, Jonathan Chance Cropton, Corwyn Evans-Klock, Katerina Hilleke, Alexander Kohn, Bethany Okada